Criminal Investigations

The Investigations Division currently has 18 Detectives responsible for conducting follow-up investigations and initiating investigations involving several specific types of cases. During the process of investigations the investigator will interview witnesses, victims, and suspects. The investigator may respond to scenes to determine exact nature of law violations; search for evidence, interview victims and suspects on scene, and prepare detailed reports of findings. Investigators prepare detailed reports for the District Attorney's Office to effectively prosecute the case in court. Investigators work closely with other agencies to effectively solve crime, share information and intelligence and assist in the apprehension of wanted persons.
 
The Criminal Investigations Division is divided into teams that cover all types of crime to include the following:
  • Major Crimes Investigators are assigned to investigate Homicide, Death Investigation, Robbery, Felony Assaults and Kidnappings.
  • Persons Crimes Investigators are assigned to investigate Rape, Sexual Assaults, Child Sexual Abuse, Missing Persons, Runaway Juveniles, Felony Domestic Violence.
  • Property Crimes Investigators are assigned to investigate Burglary, Larceny, and Auto Theft.
  • Financial Crime Investigators are assigned to investsigate Identity Theft, Credit Card Fraud and Felony Fraud Violations.
  • Arson Investigators are assigned to investigate arsons and any suspicious fires.

Contact the Criminal Investigations Division at 910-893-0140 or feel free to contact us at the below numbers.

Brittany Ellis (Admin/Analyst) 910-893-0140

blellis@harnett.org

Captain Joseph Webb 910-893-0141

jwebb@harnett.org

Lieutenant Rodney Jackson 910-893-0147

rjackson@harnett.org

Sergeant Robert Burlock 910-893-0144

rburlock@harnett.org

Sergeant Spencer Elmore 910-893-0154

selmore@harnett.org

Detective David Dowdy 910-893-0153

ddowdy@harnett.org

Detective Jacob Gardner 910-893-0149

jgardner@harnett.org

Detective Austin Coleman 910-893-0145

acoleman@harnett.org

Detective J.D. West 910-893-0146

jdwest@harnett.org

Detective R.J. Beasley 910-893-0151

rbeasley@harnett.org

Detective Brad Byrd 910-893-0150

bmbyrd@harnett.org

Detective David Hildreth 910-893-0148

dhildreth@harnett.org

Detective Kevin Ennis 910-893-0159

kennis@harnett.org

Detective  910-893-0177

@harnett.org

Detective Travis Collins 910-893-0157

tlcollins@harnett.org

Detective Michael Klingman 910-893-0142

mklingman@harnett.org

Detective Joshua Teasley 910-893-0155

jteasley@harnett.org

Detective Marty Ivey 910-893-0218

mivey@harnett.org

Detective Michael Weaver 910-893-0268

mweaver@harnett.org